Wednesday of Emily Week

I’ve been doing Plein Air working on 2 paintings a day one in the am and one in the late afternoon – some take more than one day – but light needs to be consistent. small burn out happening.

Then at mid-day,  I’ve been doing is drawing on mylar with graphite – pencils, sticks and making a slurry with graphite powder and painting medium – pick your favorite – very satisfying surface and the graphite can be wiped off too for wonderful effects.

Then there is lovely Lake Paran in North Bennington. I’ve started my mornings there the last 3 days. I’ll be back tomorrow for the upper right corner of the painting with the dock.

Then there’s the afternoon paintings when I wasn’t thinking clearly or thought I needed more of a challenge beyond just getting paint on the canvas. Below you will find the view of the top of the dam with reflections in the water and this afternoon’s start . . . the train station OMG that can’t even stand up straight!

10 Responses to “Wednesday of Emily Week”


  1. 1 dgobs July 28, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Carol, that painting of the lake and docks is awesome!! I love that you’re starting your mornings by a lake, that sounds so relaxing and magical. It reminds me of my weekend in York a few months back… I spent a few quiet hours during my morning there sitting by the river, wishing that I could paint so I could keep the moment forever. 🙂

  2. 3 laraine July 28, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    unbelievable what you have accomplished this week. possibly a move to vermont is in your near future? it seems to do you good. these are fantastic.

  3. 5 Liz July 29, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I’m sitting here in hot, troubling Arizona, “plumping up” a white paper that someone else wrote …. realizing I haven’t posted to Tasty Papers since May. All this writing, for the all holy job, and I won’t remember any of it in a year. So I’m proud of you for the effort this blog represents! The work is amazing!

    • 6 carolsartblog July 29, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      I feel such a commitment to do this, the painting and the blogging.. Its really amazing – how long have I been blogging? And getting the photos ready always takes longer than I expect and yet not long enough, ie I should upgrade my photography, use my tripod and get rid of the glare (but not while I’m at Art New England!)

      Go on, give us another recipe.

  4. 7 eva July 29, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Hi Carol:

    I particularly like the reservoir painting with the ripply water surface. Have a wonderful painting session!

    Eva

  5. 9 doggonedmysteries July 31, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Hey Cuz,
    Your paintings show how much you are enjoying it up there. Gorgeous as usual! Have fun and a safe trip home when it’s over.


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


