Dead roses at twilight – #4

Oil on 6 inch square canvas. Tokens from my garden. I’ve started experimenting with Copal medium with this painting – adding a few drops to turp. I’m hopeful that painting daily will sharpen some skills, but feeling rushed and concern over an artificially set output doesn’t help. I have 2 partially finished paintings I hope to complete tomorrow – but  I find the painting a day painter/bloggers fascinating but sometimes its that same fascination as with car wrecks.

7 Responses to “Dead roses at twilight – #4”


  1. 1 Laraine July 8, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    you’ve been painting up a storm! they look great. painting every day works. I had an 8 day run — looking to start another one soon.

  2. 2 carolsartblog July 8, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks! Its been a fabulously productive week – both for painting, I’ve been painting my food journal on a fanfold Japanese sketchbook (loved the idea, but it turns out, not the actual paper)and a pile of household to do items. Also cooked a few nice meals! Wishing I could take next week off too.

  3. 3 Laraine July 11, 2010 at 9:04 am

    what is your concern about “artificially set output” ?

  4. 4 carolsartblog July 11, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Trying to produce a painting a day, compared to painting daily, runs into problems for me when a painting needs more time to be resolved – whether working on a larger canvas, an intricate scene or just that some days it seems I’ve forgotten how to paint. But think Lucy and Ethel at the candy factory conveyor belt, that was how I was feeling.

    I took a break the last few days, and got some house stuff done and shopped a bit for Bennington. And will paint this afternoon.

  5. 5 philip lehar July 11, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    You’re doing great stuff. Simple images with the right color and form and light. Your exhibit will be great.

  6. 7 Laraine July 12, 2010 at 9:39 am

    thanks for clarifying “artificially set output.” now I get it.


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


