Back to Elm Bank, another rendition of the Charles

09.05.ElmBank

Another lovely Saturday morning upstream on the Charles River. We paint at Elm Bank which is at the intersection of Wellesley, S. Natick and Dover (?) A lovely spot, most lovely before the families and their dogs arrive (I say curmudgeonly) This is an 11X14 stretched canvas, and I’m pretty happy.

Check out Laraine’s view of this scene, a bit to my right.

7 Responses to “Back to Elm Bank, another rendition of the Charles”


  1. 1 Rybo September 7, 2009 at 7:16 am

    I know this general area from growing up in nearby Needham. There seem to be countless locations that could occupy a painter for years. I found my way to your art blog by way of Laraine Armenti’s and I really enjoy your paintings. I love the boldness of your brush strokes. I wish I could paint with that confidence for just one day. It would be the equivalent of several dozen therapy sessions.

  2. 2 carolsartblog September 7, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Thanks so much and . . . HA! painting is my therapy, keeping me closer to sane in the past 2 years since I returned to it. I hope to explore spots all along the river, but I do best returning to a specific spot a few times – maybe the repetition contributes to the confidence and boldness.

  3. 3 doggonedmysteries September 9, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Oh, Carol that’s gorgeous!

  4. 5 CeCe September 10, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Laraine and Carol….My compliments to you both for your pastoral scenes of the river in my old home state, city, hood.
    keep it up

  5. 6 Philip Lehar September 19, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Remember Helen Frankenthaler ? It’s kind of the realist version of that.


  1. 1 Charles River, no. 5 » Laraine Armenti Art Trackback on September 30, 2009 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


