Memento Morandi

memento-morandi

Last Sunday’s crazy drive to NYC  allowed me to see the Giorgio Morandi show on its final day.  I was totally smitten with his watercolors – so elegant and abstract. His austere still lifes are a world away from my technicolor chaos – fascinating. So thanks to Cecil, Alan and Emma! and hopefully we’ll do something less frenetic for the Bonnard show. This gouache painting is thanks to Cecil and inspired by the paintings we visited, in my Holbein sketchbook measuring c. 4.5 inches square.

6 Responses to “Memento Morandi”


  1. 1 Cecilia Lehar December 21, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    oops… I pressed the return key and it got sent prematurely! I want to add: Your blogsite is so cool! Love the seasonal snow falling. What fun!! Carol, come visit more often. It was so great to see you guys! Much much love, Cecil xoxox MrryXms!

  2. 2 Cecilia Lehar December 21, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I’m not so good at this, am I…. hm. Apparently I lost my first entree. I was saying how wonderful your ode to Morandi is!!! Really gorgeous! Leah had a super birthday party. It started with skating at The Pond at Bryant Park, a relatively new rink. Then try and imagine 12 overexcited 12yr old girls cramming themselves into our apartment! Leah was ecstatic! We had an ice cream cake with a grey tabby cat on it that looked a lot like our Starsie-Boy. Leah was a symphony in purple, wearing the lovely purple stone earrings you chose at the MET for her. She really loves them and looks so great in them. We’re off to Puerto Rico at the crack of dawn, Wed Dec 24th! I’m so excited to be going some place that warm! xoxoxCecil

  3. 3 doggonedmysteries December 22, 2008 at 3:14 am

    This is absolutely beautiful! You never cease to amaze me.

  4. 4 carolsartblog December 22, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Gosh, blush, thanks – I enjoy making these small gouache paintings, its quick and portable, yet lovely range.

  5. 5 Laraine December 22, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    beautiful little gouache. lovely.

  6. 6 Emma January 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I had such a good time when you visited. What a nice website and superb paintings!

    hugs


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


