Class work final week

Once again, some frustration with digital photography – the colors always seem more intense than reality – yes, I know – Photoshop, and I did tone this down, but it seems like a true representation of the color should be possible – I use a variety of preset white balances in my Nikon D70 – daylight, auto and incandescent – sigh, am I really going to have to read the manual? More than other paintings I did separate the model from the background and did get the background to recede.

class3rdpaintingfinal1208

2 Responses to “Class work final week”


  1. 1 Elena December 15, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Hi Carol,
    Peg sent me here. Your figure study is coming along nicely. Wanting to make the figure stand out more from the background has encouraged me to suggest something to consider.
    To me the model’s face is getting lost in the combination of whatever is hanging near it as well as the background that is a similar warmth.

    Possibly simplifying the background by removing the white thing, and continuing the warm background a bit further so it ends behind the edge of the pillow would serve to forward the entire figure as well as tie the warm and cool backgrounds together.

  2. 2 carolsartblog December 20, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Hi Elena –

    Thanks, I do think there’s some hope for my figure work – but invariably – I need a day or 2 more with the pose. Got to work on seizing the moment.


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


