One reason why cats don’t belong in the painting studio

catsinstilllife1201

While I was hard at work designing the BACS (ds’s previous school) newsletter, the felines were at play – beneath my still life set up. Amazingly not only did the cup survive but the lemon is still in the right spot. See painting in progress. The studio does present different challenges than Plein Air.

5 Responses to “One reason why cats don’t belong in the painting studio”


  1. 1 Rachel Howard December 3, 2008 at 8:17 am

    That’s so cute! I have immense problems with my cat in the studio. If I’m using the table he jumps up on it and tries to sit in front of me. He also tries to drink the water, even if it’s 20% acrylic. Even if it’s green. Especially if it’s green, thinking about it. Once he knocked a whole pot of green water all over the room while I was at work and it had all dried when I got home. There are still green bits of carpet.

    If I’m using the drawing board I sit on a high stool, so he gets attention by sticking his claws in my bum. Nice.

  2. 2 Leslie December 3, 2008 at 9:35 am

    That’s so funny! My cats are one of the reasons why I never pursued painting in oils! I don’t have a studio with a door I can close, so I just make sure and dump my water every time I finish, and cover up my watercolor paper. I do still have to pick cat hair out of my paints and paintings occasionally…

    Cats are worth it, though, aren’t they? Sweet sillies!

  3. 3 Speck December 3, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    One of our kitties plopped right in the middle of my painting while I was painting it! When I shooed him away, he stole one of my paintbrushes for revenge. But artspaces must have kitties about. How can anyone be an artist without a cat for a muse???

  4. 4 carolsartblog December 4, 2008 at 9:01 am

    There are times when the cats seem more critics than muse – but I just have to remember to use the door.

  5. 5 Timaree December 4, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I think my cat made my computer freeze and crash when I left the lid open and went outside. But this is where she lives and she’s only trying for attention. I have learned not to leave the lid of my laptop up or anything sitting on my table she can spill.


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


