Back to Plein Air Painting

oil painting on 8 in square canvas

I have found getting back to painting since my show a bit challenging. In part, there were family and home obligations to be attended to ( is that code for reintroducing myself to my husband and son plus house cleaning for the first time in six months?) I’m delighted to paint outside again but not yet pleased with the work, the paintings here are not the first of the season, I have made a trip to Walden Pond with fellow painters but decided to wipe down the canvas. In part its the transition from working in the studio, painting figures through the end of winter and spring. On Saturday, May 31st, I brought my oils to the back garden. I wanted to celebrate the first blooms of an iris planted 4 years ago. Next time I am looking for a monumental feeling, my canvas will really need to be 10 times the size. Here are two oil paintings: a 2 inch square study on gessoed paper and a painting on 8 inch square stretched canvas.

1 Response to “Back to Plein Air Painting”


  1. 1 Cousin Peg June 9, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Love your blog! Your pictures are gorgeous!!!

    Peg


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


