Back with the brushes

Coneflowers Study 1My goal was an early start but not quite, I made it to the easel on the patio by 8:30 am the last two days. The coneflowers (echinacea),  painted on a birch panel about 8×10, were successful in terms of the learning experience. (I think they look like bizarre strawberries) while the painting of the back of the neighbors homes, stretched canvas 20×10, owes a great deal to Edward Hopper – saw the exhibit at the MFA on Friday. The next step – to make it to the streets of Charlestown – I think the key is an early start and good prep with solid composition ideas so I can get right to work and not worry about the public . . . oh, and the ipod, too.

Backyards of Charlestown 1

 

4 Responses to “Back with the brushes”


  1. 1 Phil Lehar August 22, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Those are both great!
    2nd one from Hopper eh?
    Foliage better, brickage more abstract.
    But he did say he was interested in leaving stuff out.
    Both have nice light and atmosphere.

  2. 2 Melissa August 22, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    I really love the colors in the backs of the buildings and can indeed see Hopper!
    I really happy to see you are working!

    Melissa

  3. 3 progressivegrannie August 24, 2007 at 2:00 am

    I like the flowers! You should come to Texas and paint fields of wildflowers in the spring! We have room for guests….
    And I found my link to your site obviously. I saved it on my blog, duh!
    Sally

  4. 4 Andrea August 24, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Much better than Hopper.


Leave a Reply

What’s on the nightstand?

The Tools by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell
August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

COPYRIGHT

© 2012 Carol Schweigert. All rights reserved. Please contact Carol for written permission for use of images or text.

Archives


